A moment of gratitude

I know my stated goal for my blog is to entertain & amuse, and not be political – but I can’t help but express my feelings about what is happening in Iran.

I was born free. I had nothing to do with it – a woman gave birth in America and luckily – it was me. I have, at times in my life, wished that I had been born rich or beautiful. But I was not born deformed or ugly, I was not born poor, I was not born with health problems, I was not born to abusive parents. All of this is worth being grateful for – but I am most grateful for being born free.

I can’t imagine what it must be like to live in a third world country, with hunger and disease around every corner. And I can’t imagine what it must be like to live in a place where women are seen as souless property, to be used and beaten by men. And I can’t imagine what it must be like to live in a place where gunfire is a familiar sound – and where you’re not allowed to speak your mind, and where – if they could – you would even be condemned for having free thoughts.

I don’t want to imagine it. I know it’s all out there and I try not to think too much about it, but this week it could not be avoided. When I heard the Iranian woman’s poem on the rooftop about the plight of her people – I changed my Twitter avatar to green. When I saw the video of Neda’s death, I went to a funny movie. But later that night, I could no longer hold back the tears. I don’t cry easily. I can be a heartless bitch. But not this time.

I don’t know what I can do to help except to join the millions of Americans and others around the world to express love and support for the people of Iran – the REAL people of Iran.

They had no choice in where they were born either. I’m so grateful to be free.

3 Responses to “A moment of gratitude”

  1. barelyknittogether Says:

    I feel the same way, and have been overcome with grief that anyone could have to live in such circumstances. I often have to step back from politics because the issues can be heart wrenching, but I also have hope that this will make our own citizens realize that these countries are more than just their leaders. They are populated with people just like us, who want nothing more than to go to work, have a place to call home with their families, and build a life worth living.

    Great post, friend.

  2. Lydia Says:

    There are things that will stay with you forever, and that woman’s death will be with me for the rest of my life.

    Freedom is not political. It’s a universal gift.

    God Bless America. Cherish the free and the brave.

  3. Sue Says:

    Great post…and i wholeheartedly agree. 🙂

Leave a Reply

